

MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release

April 3, 2018

Contact: Dave Jacobson, (818) 943-2348

Maclen Zilber, (510) 508-9142 Jacobson & Zilber Strategies

WORKING FAMILIES COALITION BACKING SMITH FOR ASSEMBLY GROWS

AFSCME California PEOPLE Backs Christy Smith for AD-38

SANTA CLARITA, CA -- Further illustrating her widespread support from labor unions in her rematch campaign for Assembly District 38, today Newhall School Board President Christy Smith was endorsed by AFSCME California PEOPLE.

In a statement released following the endorsement, AFSCME California PEOPLE Assistant Political Action Director Brian Allison reflected:

"AFSCME California PEOPLE is thrilled to announce our endorsement of Christy Smith for State Assembly, because we know that in Sacramento she'll be a bold champion for working people. She's demonstrated not only a deep understanding of the issues that matter to our members, but also a commitment to addressing them as an elected official, including creating and protecting good paying jobs, reinforcing the freedom of workers to negotiate for fair wages, benefits and working conditions on the job, and making sure working women and men can retire with the dignity and respect they deserve. Christy's common sense agenda embodies precisely the brand of leadership we need, and we're proud to endorse her campaign."

Today's announcement follows Newhall School Board President Christy Smith's recent unveiling of her new digital video titled, "Our Movement." To view the ad, *click here* or on the screen shot below.



The FACCC's endorsement is another sign of the surging momentum behind Smith's campaign that has not slowed since she announced her candidacy, leading to the endorsement of the California Democratic Party and numerous other organizations and leaders including:

Organizations

- California Democratic Party
- California Faculty Association
- California Federation of Teachers
- California Democratic Legislative Women's Caucus
- National Organization for Women (NOW) California Chapter
- Women's Political Committee
- EMILY's List
- San Fernando Valley Chapter of the National Women's Political Caucus (NWPC)
- California League of Conservation Voters
- Equality California

- Planned Parenthood Advocacy Project Los Angeles County
- Los Angeles Stonewall Democratic Club
- Democratic Party of the San Fernando Valley
- North Valley Democratic Club
- Simi Valley Democratic Club
- Santa Clarita Valley Young Democrats
- Moorpark College Democrats
- Los Angeles County Federation of Labor
- State Building and Construction Trades Council of California
- Los Angeles/Orange County Building and Construction Trades Council
- United Association (UA) Pipe Trades Local 250
- United Association (UA) Pipe Trades Local 761
- International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 40
- Laborers (LiUNA) Local 300
- Teamsters Joint Council 42
- Service Employees International Union (SEIU) California State Council
- Communications Workers of America Southern California Council (CWA)
- AFSCME California PEOPLE
- International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE)
- Faculty Association of California Community Colleges

Elected and Community Leaders

- U.S. Congresswoman and State Assembly Speaker Emeritus Karen Bass
- U.S. Congressman Jimmy Gomez
- U.S. Congressman Brad Sherman
- U.S. Congresswoman Julia Brownley
- California State Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon

- California State Assembly Speaker Emeritus and U.C. Regent John A. Pérez
- California State Controller Betty Yee
- California State Treasurer John Chiang
- State Senator Ricardo Lara
- State Senator Ben Allen
- State Senator Henry Stern
- State Senator Fran Pavley (Ret.)
- State Assembly Democratic Caucus Chair Mike Gipson
- State Assembly Member Jacqui Irwin
- State Assembly Member Reggie Jones-Sawyer
- State Assembly Member Tony Thurmond
- State Assembly Member Lorena Gonzalez-Fletcher
- State Assembly Member Laura Friedman
- State Assembly Member Blanca Rubio
- State Assembly Member Monique Limon
- California Democratic Party First Vice Chair Alex Rooker
- Sandra Fluke, Women's Rights Activist
- Ventura County Democratic Party Chair John Griffin
- Los Angeles City Controller Wendy Greuel (Ret.)
- Los Angeles City Controller Rick Tuttle (Ret.)
- Los Angeles City Council Member Nury Martinez
- Los Angeles City Council Member Joe Buscaino
- Fresno Mayor Karen Humphrey (Ret.)
- Jeri Boyd, Santa Clarita
- Kristi Harn, Simi Valley
- Seymour Amster, Granada Hills
- Nathan Bousfield, SCV Young Democrats, Recording Secretary*, Santa Clarita

- Krisna Crawford-Velasco, Chicano/Latino Caucus Corresponding Secretary, Granada Hills
- Michelle Elmer, AD38 Chair, SFV Young Democrats, DPSFV, Porter Ranch
- Stacy Fortner, AD38 Vice Chair, Recording Secretary, Democratic Alliance for Action, Santa Clarita
- Diana Love, former CDP Region 9 Director
- Philip Germain, Chair, 25Up, SCV Young Democrats, Treasurer*, Santa Clarita
- Evan Koplin, Santa Clarita
- CeCe Koplin, CADEM E-Board AD38, Santa Clarita
- Michael Kulka, 25Up, DPSFV Vice Chair*, Santa Clarita
- Andrew Munson, SCV Young Democrats, Santa Clarita
- Julie Olsen, DSCC Delegate, Saugus School Board Member*, Santa Clarita
- Lynne Plambeck, Santa Clarita
- Logan Smith, SCV Young Democrats, Vice President*, Santa Clarita
- Patti Sulpizio, Democratic Alliance for Action, President*, Santa Clarita
- Andrew Taban, SCV Young Democrat, President*, Santa Clarita
- Jeremy Thompson, Santa Clarita
- Sondra Harth, Simi Valley Democratic Club, Corresponding Secretary*,
 Simi Valley
- Ryan Valencia, Simi Valley Democratic Club, Recording Secretary*, Simi Valley
- Victor Cherdsuriya, Simi Valley Democratic Club, Controller*, Simi Valley
- Javad Ayala, Simi Valley
- John Casselberry, Simi Valley Democratic Club, Administrative VP*,
 Simi Valley

- Jodie Cooper, Simi Valley Democratic Club, Executive VP*, Simi Valley
- Jerry Danielsen, Democratic Alliance for Action, Vice President*, Santa Clarita
- Melissa Garcia, Chatsworth
- Maria Guerra, Santa Clarita
- Hilary Hall Puente, Santa Clarita
- Henry Knebel, Santa Clarita
- Andrew Lopez, Simi Valley
- Bonnie Nikolai, Val Verde
- David Ruelas, SCV Young Democrats, Senator*, Santa Clarita
- Lysa Simon, North Valley Democratic Club, Vice President*, Granada Hills
- Ryan Skolnick, Simi Valley Democratic Club, Simi Valley
- Brian Dennert, Simi Valley

Smith, who previously ran in 2016 and shocked political observers across California by making the 38th District competitive for Democrats for the first time in recent memory, raised and spent a significant \$1.4 million this past November. She begins the 2018 campaign with over \$50,000 in her war chest.

Christy Smith was elected to the Newhall School Board in 2009 and is currently serving as the Board's President. She is active in education advocacy locally and state-wide, previously serving as the Legislative Vice President of the Santa Clarita Valley Trustees Association and as a delegate to the California School Board Association. Smith lives in Santa Clarita with Phil, her husband of 26 years and their two girls.

*Titles for Identification Purposes Only.

Paid for by Christy Smith for Assembly 2018

Copyright © 2018 J&Z Strategies, All rights reserved.

You are receiving this email because you opted in. To unsubscribe, simply click the unsubscribe button below.

Subscribe to J&Z Strategies' email list here:

http://bit.ly/2jWSisc

Our mailing address is:

5419 Hollywood blvd Suite C135, Los Angeles, CA 90027

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can <u>update your preferences</u> or <u>unsubscribe from this list</u>